10 of my Favorite Waheeda Rehman Songs

Waheeda Rehman, one of the most beautiful and versatile actresses , was born on this day. Here’s wishing her a very very Happy Birthday! Here are few songs of hers which I truly love :

1. Chaudhavin ka chaand (Chaudhavin Ka Chand, 1960) : The song says it all! One of my all time favourites, amazing composition, beautiful picturization and lovely Waheeda.

2.  Zara nazron se kehdo ji (Bees Saal Baad, 1962) : What expressions! The gait with which she walks, the faces she makes, the way she leans against a tree branch chewing the sugarcane, the way she gets up after falling down from the swing (again, the first thing she does is to pick up the sugarcane!), her smile, her attitude, her innocence – an ‘ada’ of her own.  There’s something very very cute about this song.  Everytime I hear this song (which is almost everyday), I have a broad smile on my face, esp  when ‘Yeh bholapan tumhara, yeh shararat aur yeh shaukhee, zaroorat kya tumhe talwar ki, teeron ki, khanjar ki…nazar bhar ke jise tum dekhlo woh khud hi mar jaye’ comes. And last but not the least what an amazing usage of the prop – sugarcane!!!


3.  Khuda bhi aasman se jab (Dharti, 1970) : Should I say everything about this song is heavenly? (except for Rajendra Kumar’s shirt ;-)) Great poetry, fabulous rendition and ever”green” Waheeda.

4. Na tum hamen jaano (Baat Ek raat Ki, 1962) : Both Hemant da’s (Naa tum hamen jaano) and Suman Kalyanpur’s version of this song are great. I chose Sumanji’s rendition here because Waheeda looks better in this one. I had actually thought of making a list of ten songs in male voice, but couldn’t help including this  one.

5. Kaanton se kheench ke yeh aanchal (Guide, 1965) : My dad used to watch Rangoli on DD when I was a kid. And I always used to get confused as to who is who…esp the actresses – back then, they all looked the same to me. This song was pretty popular and used to come very often. It was through this song that I started recognizing Waheeda. And it was this song that led me to watch this movie.  I love Piya tose naina lage re as well,  but Kaanton se kheench ke yeh aanchal holds a more special place in my heart.

5. Paan khaye sainyaan hamaro (Teesri Kasam, 1966) :  I’ve always liked this song – it’s so simple and so sweet. And post dustedoff’s comment, I think of this song as a dessert in the ‘musical menu’ of bollywood songs.

6. Raat bhi hai kuch bheegi bheegi (Mujhe Jeene Do, 1963) : This  is such an expressive performance…simple and yet sensuous.  Beautiful, in every way – lyrics, music, Lataji’s voice and Waheedaji’s grace.

7.  Bhanwra bada naadaan hai (Sahib Bibi aur Ghulam, 1962) :  Simply love the way Waheeda scratches her head and sticks her tongue out. 🙂 Very innocently picturised and it’s its simplicity that adds to it beauty.

8.  Waqt ne kiya kya haseen sitam (Kaagaz ke Phool, 1959) : This is such a hauntingly melodious song – so beautifully sung and portrayed.

9. Jaane kya tune kahi (Pyaasa, 1957) : She looks so young and so pretty in this song. Terrific combo of Geeta Dutt’s voice and Waheeda’s screen presence.

10.  Kahin pe nigahen kahin pe nishaana (C.I.D, 1956) : Innocence and beauty personified, though her role has a grey shade in the movie, not all that innocent.

Like I said earlier, I had initially thought of listing all 10 songs in male voice but suddenly thought of Guide and all the other songs just followed. There’s quite a lot I want to write but am too tied up with work at the moment. Lots of things to be added and updated here but I want to publish this post before the day ends.  So, will update it as and when I get time.

The original list had –  Woh shaam kuch ajeeb thi,   Yeh nayan dare dare , Apni toh har aah, Phoolon ke rang se, Parbaton ke pedon par (she shares the screen with her husband),  Gaata rahe mera dil (one of the most popular duets featuring Waheeda).

It wasn’t possible to include all her songs here and I know I have missed quite a lot of her popular songs.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

27 Responses to “10 of my Favorite Waheeda Rehman Songs”

  1. Nasir Says:

    Lovely, just lovely! Excellent choice. I just wonder how you have pin-pointed those songs from the whole range of her songs.

    As for the Guide song, can MOHSE CHHAL KIYE JAAYE compete?
    I haven’t watched most of the above movies, but I also love PAAN KHAAYE SAIYAN HAMAARO…I don’t know why? Waheeda’s dance has got a lot to do with it, though the steps are just simple.

    Excellent comments too!

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      Thank you!!! I made this list in such a big hurry. I have a deadline for Year End release today and have been working like crazy, but I had to do this post. After all, I am a big fan of Waheeda 🙂

      She had an elegance and grace…no matter how simple the dance steps were, she made them look great. And her expressions were truly amazing!

  2. bollyviewer Says:

    Such a great list! Waheeda Rehman is gorgeous – Chaudhavin ka chand personified, and a superb actress, as well!

    You’ve included all my favorite Waheeda songs, especially Chaudhavin ka chand ho that I love for her luminous beauty, Rafi’s voice and the beautiful lyrics. 🙂

  3. Archana Says:

    Piya tose naina laagey rey…ye bhi 1 all time hit hai waheeda jiki..but u hav already included..aaj fir jeene ki tammana hai from guide..

  4. dustedoff Says:

    Lovely list! (and what a beautiful, talented and dignified lady – Happy birthday, Waheedaji!)

    I just realised: some of my favourite Waheeda songs are paeans to her, rather than songs her character sings. Yeh nayan dare-dare, Chaudhvin ka chaand ho, Yehi toh hain woh, Beqaraar karke humein yoon na jaaiye… so many of them. And so well deserved! 🙂

  5. harvey Says:

    Wow a list on your fav list of Waheeda songs. Waheeda is also one of my favorite actresses, she comes right next to Geeta Bali, I think!
    My list would have entirely different songs maybe with an exception of one or two.
    I’ll post it to you some time soon if you don’t mind.

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      I haven’t seen much of Geeta Bali….but Waheeda is undoubtedly one of my favorite actresses…Actually, I like almost all of them from that era.
      Please do post it, I would love to see your selection of songs 🙂

  6. harvey Says:

    As promised her comes my list:

    Aaj sajan mohe ang laga lo from Pyaasa (1957)
    This wonderful song from the Bhakti movement is just awesome. The picturisation is in a characteristically Guru Dutt manner an understatement. Below in the street you see a jogan singing the bhakti song longing for Krishna and her spiritual union with him. On the terrace Gulabo feels overwhelmed by her feelings for Vijay. As the song reaches its climax with the beats of the mridang calming down again, you expect her to go and hug him. But she doesn’t she turns around and runs away. Fantastic!

    Waqt ne kiya kya haseen sitam from Kaagaz Ke Phool (1959)
    Kaifi Azmi’s lyrics, Burmanda’s music, V. K Murthy’s photography, Guru Dutt’s direction has created this song, which has left indelible impression in my memory. Waheeda Rehman dressed as Paro looks like portrait from an era long passed by, but still very earthy. I always thought it is a very sad song, but the lyrics speak a different language. But the impressionis not wrong, the characters are not happy that they are in love.

    Tum to dil ke taar chhed kar from Roop Ki Rani Choron Ka Raja (1961)
    There are two versions o this song one picturised on Dev Anand and sung by Talat Mehmood and the other picturised on Waheeda and sung by Lata. Both are wonderful. This song creates the ‘mithi si chuban’ of love faultlessly. This one flutters my heart every time I hear it. And it is bonus to see lovely Waheeda in the video.

    Yeh nayan dare dare from Kohra (1964)
    Hemantda’s haunting voice and Waheeda’s ethereal beauty is beautiful blend which regales the heart every time. Waheeda looks sleepless at the beginning of the song with tired eyes but a breathtaking smile and hair like kaali ghata.

    Piya tose naina lage re from Guide (1965)
    A movie with which Waheeda Rehman is still identified with, although Dev Anand had the title role. This song shows Waheeda in different costumes and her rise from a small time dancer to a big celebrity with Raju’s help. But this song also underlines her love for him, which is important for the storyline, since we, the spectators might doubt this fact, since she won’t defend him in the court. Waheeda a trained dancer, shows her skills in this 8 minute song, making every movement seem so effortless and in such a graceful manner.

    Rangeela re from Prem Pujari (1970)
    Another dance song for Waheeda and this time in an embassy, if I’m not mistaken. And she is drunk as well. This is the only sharabi song of hers as far as I can remember. Waheeda is trying to dance off her sorrow at finding her long-lost lover in the arms of another woman, and she does it in such a graceful manner. The only thing which disturbs in the song, when I watch the song are the many disinterested goras and goris in the background.

    Tu chanda mein chandini from Reshma aur Shera (1971)
    A hauntingly beautiful song by Jaidev, for this Romeo and Juliet story set in the desert. It shows Reshma sneaking out to meet her Shera at night.

    Piya sang khelo holi from Phagun (1973)
    Waheeda dances to this song wearing a nine-yard sari in the song and carries it off with a grace unsurpassed. A wonderful song sung by Lata with music by Dada Burman, which is very important for the plot. There is also another very beautiful song from this movie: Sandhya jo aaye.

    Aa aa bhi ja from Teesri Kasam (1966)
    Waheeda plays a nautankiwali in this movie, who falls in love with a bullock cart driver. An intense longing for the lover is woven in the song, contrasting with nautanki beats in between. She misses her namesake played by Raj Kapoor, who is jealous, since in the evening before he has seen her accepting money from the local Thakur. It is interesting to see the video and notice the simple dance moves which would be typical for a nautanki, but at the same time you see in the close up very graceful hand movements.

    Maine har hal me from Swayam (1991)
    Swayam is a little known TV-Film by Mahesh Bhatt. It is a story about an old woman, who wants to live on her own, that is why the song “maine har hal mein jine ki kasam khayi hai, aasman ab tu hi bata tera irada kya hai”. A very inspirational song, that is why I love it. I saw the film on DD in 1991, but since then have lost track of it. Does anybody know if the DVD or VCD of this film is available?

  7. dustedoff Says:

    I’d forgotten about Tu chanda main chandni… what a gorgeous song. Love it!

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      Me too…such a lovely song and I completely forgot about it.

    • harvey Says:

      I love nearly all jaidev songs.
      His collaboration with Sunil Dutt was particularly fruitful.
      It is interesting to see how in both the films (Mujhe Jeene Do and Reshma aur Shera) he divides the songs equally between Lata and Asha. The same pheomenon is to be observed in Hum Dono as well.

  8. bollywooddeewana Says:

    Ok this list straight up reminds me of how very little of Waheeda ji i’ve seen my fave songs of her are Rangeela re from Prem Pujari, Gate rahe from Guide is another favourite as well as piya sang from phagun, so far i’ve seen justa bout 4-5 of her films a shame i know for a bollywood deewana like me, i have to see more of her work more especially i wants to see Mujhe jeene do as she starred opposite one of my fave actors Sunil dutt in taht one pls release on dvd with eng subs people

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      Please do…I need to re-watch some of her movies myself, esp. Mujhe Jeene Do and Reshma aur Shera . Had thought of doing a post on one of her movies, but have been extremely busy.

  9. Stuart Says:

    Thank you SO MUCH for including one song from my all-time favourite Waheeda film, Teesri Kasam. I first saw Waheeda in Chaudhvin ka Chand, and knew at once that the words of the title track are, if anything, criminally understated. Then I saw Guide, and although SHE was great Dev Anand’s self-glorifying “Dev” complex made me dislike the movie (especially the nauseating end, which would have had Narayan spinning in his grave if hadn’t been cremated). After several more of her films, all of which I at least liked I finally got hold of Teesri Kasam – an ASTONISHING film, one of the best evre, and Waheeda is utterly sublime in showing that she is so much more than supernaturally beautiful.That such a ‘feminist’ movie could be made in 1966 is amazing, especially after Chauvinist ka Chand, and of course it also has the best opening ever with Saajan re jhoot ( referenced in Waheeda’s Dilli-6). The lady is REALLY a living legend, truly लाजवाब and thank you so much for this excellent list.

  10. sunheriyaadein Says:

    I am extremely fond of Waheedaji…. she is truly Chaudhavi ka chaand personified. I don’t find the lyrics understated, may be that’s because I can’t think of anything better to describe her luminous beauty. I have to give Teesri Kasam a re-watch…had seen it long ago. I only remember the songs – each of them is a gem.

  11. stuartnz Says:

    I don’t find the lyrics understated,

    Yes, that was hyperbole. 🙂

  12. geeta Daby Says:

    i’m so glad to meet these people because they are also fan of my favorite actress.Waheeda is my only favorite actress. i pray for god for her long joyfully and healthy life. one day i wiil meet her i/m sure of my will power and have trust in god.i thank all of u so many good compliment of my actress please help me to get her address or a contact number i really want to meet her.she is a very pure soul i think this is pulling me towards her.please don’t forgetme ill be very very very very very very thanksful and grateful to you. again a lots of thankful to u.soon get her address.

  13. Kanwar Uday Says:

    I love Guru Dutt ,Getta Dutt and Wahida Rehman is my favorite ..
    Our choice and taste are very similar,You can visit my channel in youtube
    Nice work keep it up.
    GOD bless you n your family .. Mastkalandr

  14. Akash Singh Says:

    Ohhh… Really that’s a great list. Thanks for sharing….

Leave a comment