Rafi Fest – Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai

I was introduced to this song not as recently as the last two songs, but a couple of months ago. I saw and heard it first when Nasir saab had shared it on his wall on facebook. And for me it was love at first sight. I was completely floored by it! I must have listened to it non-stop for 10-15 times.

It’s from 1951 film Saiyan, composed by Sajjad Hussain and written by D.N Madhok. It’s picturized on Sajjan and Madhubala. Madhubala has a raw and rustic appeal, and she looks so beautiful, as always. But it’s Sajjan who steals the show!  I haven’t seen much of Sajjan in movies, but I instantly fell in love with him in this song.  His dance, expressions, the way he’s carried himself throughout the song….is just wow! The energy level, style and attitude in Rafi’s voice and Sajjan’s onscreen antics is simply superb!!!  Each word is crisp and to the point and unlike most of the songs where picturization doesn’t live upto the greatness of the song, this, I feel is one complete entertainment package – awesome lyrics, amazing music, flawless singing, beautifully picturized – over all,  very well delivered! Though I keep wondering what he’s upto at 1:54, it just adds to the craziness of the song.

And this song never fails to bring a smile on my face.

Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai – 2
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh….

Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh….

Barbaad jawani na kijiye
Dil le lijiye dil de dijiye
Yeh din aur tanhayi haye – 2
Haye re kaun yeh samjhay
Nis rahi na rahe yeh jawani hum sach kehte hai

Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh….

Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh…..

Aawaaz jawani deti hai
Dekho angdaai leti hai
Ghut ke mar jayenge armaan -2
Kahe ki jhijhak hai aao yahan
Nis rahi na rahe yeh jawani hum sach kehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh….

Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh…..

(Yeh husn diya jisne tumko
Poochega woh ek din yeh sunlo)  – 2
Bande pe mere kyun zulm kiya – 2
Ek jhalak dikhla ke maar diya
Lajja mein doob maroge hum sach kehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh….

Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai
Koi kehde unse jaake jo hum kehte hai
Oh oh oh oh…..

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Rafi Fest – Us paar iss deewar ke jo rehte hai”

  1. harvey Says:

    That sure is a funny song!
    Loved it too. madhubala does look good in it. Somehow it is hard to see Sajjan as a young hero. I will always remember him as Vetal from Vikram aur Vetal.
    Madhubala and he did another film together with snakes playing a major role in it: Bahut Din Huwe. I started watching it on you tube but left it midway.

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      I somehow never saw Vikram aur Betaal, though I have heard a lot about it. I think I was in Bhutan when it used to be aired on Doordarshan, And back in the 80’s and 90’s television transmission was not available there. So, missed out on it.
      I have seen Sajjan in few movies but never as a lead actor. It was so much fun seeing him in this avataar.
      Though I am very fond of snakes, Bahut Din Hue doesnt sound interesting enough. The name itself sounds sad and depressing.

  2. harvey Says:

    Sorry, my memory failed me, Sajjan doesn’t star in Bahut Din Huwe.

Leave a Reply

