Rafi Fest – Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon

With Rafi’s Birth Anniversary going on, there’s Rafi fest going on everywhere – groups on facebook, Rafi Foundation Hyderabad Chapter.

I was listening to one song today, and found the lyrics so interesting that I thought of sharing it here. But with the fest already in air, I thought of starting a series here as well. I will post one song (along with it’s lyrics) by Rafi everyday whole of this month. It’s a herculean task to pick up just one song a day, but I’m restricting myself to songs that I’ve come across only in the recent past, songs which are new to me.

Though I mentioned about a song with funny lyrics above, it’ll feature sometime later here. For today, the song is Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon from Husn Aur Ishq (1966).

How I came across it – I was listening to radio few weeks ago and heard Hum tere bin jee na sakenge sanam from Thakur Jarnail Singh composed by Ganesh. With all the posts on Shrota Biradari on lesser known composers and dustedoff’s post on Celebrating the Uncelebrated, I have started paying extra attention to lyricist and music composers while listening to songs these days. So, I started searching for all songs composed by Ganesh and came across this. Though Hum tere bin jee na sakenge sanam is quite popular and I had heard few songs from Smuggler, the other compositions of his were relatively new to me.

And ever since I’v heard and seen this song, it’s kind of stayed with me.  Be it Rafi’s ‘Haye’, Sanjeev Kumar’s mad act or it’s catchy tune – I just love it all!

This lovely song is penned by Ashad Bhopali, composed by Ganesh and picturised on Sanjeev Kumar and L.Vijayalakshmi.  It’s romantic, has little ‘Aawara’ quotient to it and is full of pyaar and masti. As always, Rafi has rendered it so beautifully, has put life and emotions to the lyrics. I  especially love the way ‘Dekho badli hawaein zamane ki and Dekho maangi dua jinhe paane ki‘ parts are sung.

So, here it goes –

Chal hatt  aawara kahin ka…

Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon – 2
Woh yeh kehte hai aawaara hai, deewana hai
Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon
Woh yeh kehte hai aawaara hai, deewana hai

Phoolon sa chehra hai, sharmili aankhen hai
Nukili palke, ‘haye’…..
Dil ko tarsi hai, bechain balkhai
Yeh kali zulfen
Dekho badli hawaein zamaane ki
Yeh sazaa hai suno dil lagaane ki

Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon – 2
Woh yeh kehte hai aawaara hai, deewana hai

Dilruba, yeh haseen, chaand bhi dhal gaya
Yeh baahein tarse,
Saason ki garmi se, tan badan jal gaya
Yeh aankhen barse
Dekho maangi dua jinhe paane ki
Wohi baatein kare hai jalaane ki

Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon – 2
Woh yeh kehte hai aawaara hai, deewana hai

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Rafi Fest – Jinki tasveer nigahon mein liye phirta hoon”

  1. 786nasir Says:

    In my opinion, the musical composition could have given fantastic results in Ghazal genre, with Asad Bhopali being an excellent lyricist as can been seen from his Parasmani and other songs. Thanks to Rafi Sahaab’s style, not much harm is done.

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      The effect would have been totally different if the music had been slower, softer and more subtle. I never gave it a thought when I heard the song, I liked it the way it is.
      But now that you mentioned it, it certainly feels like it would have made for a great song in Ghazal genre.

Leave a Reply

