Happy Birthday Mukesh!

When I had done a post on Mukesh last year for his death anniversary, I had listed some of his most popular songs. And though I had said I would be doing more posts on him, I’ve hardly had time to do any posts at all after that.

On this Birth Anniversary of his, I’m listing 3 not-so-very-popular (at least I had not heard them earlier until recently) songs that I have come to love immensely. I wish I had the time to do a longer post, but unfortunately I dont. So here goes my list –

1. Pukaro mujhe naam lekar pukaro (Bhool Na Jaana, 1965) : I’m addicted to this song ever since I discovered it. A friend of mine who’s a big-time Gulzar fan had posted this on his wall on facebook about a month ago. And hardly a day has passed without me listening to it since then. It’s the simplicity of this song that I like the most – beautiful lyrics by Gulzar, awesome music by Daan Singh (I’ve become very fond of this man these days) and superb and heart-felt rendition by Mukesh. As this movie was never released, I doubt if we will ever find out how this song was picturized. But the audio is just so perfect, I would rather settle down with it than have the song spoiled by some inappropriate caste or silly picturization (as is the case with some of the best songs).  At the moment, I find this song totally heavenly –  It’s so melodious and poetic and romantic that it’s combined effect makes me heady everytime I listen to it. And I just cant get enough of it –

(Pukaro mujhe naam lekar pukaro 
Mujhe tumse apni khabar mil rahi hai) 2

(Kahin baar yoon bhi hua hai safar mein
Achanak se do ajnabee mil gaye ho) 2
Jinhe rooh pehchaanti ho azal se
Bhatakte bhatakte wohi mil gaye ho

Kunware labon ki kasam tod do tum
zara muskura kar baharein sanwaron

Pukaro mujhe naam lekar pukaro
Mujhe tumse apni khabar mil rahi hai

(Khayalon mein tumne bhi dekhi toh hongi
Kabhi mere khwabon ki dhundhlee lakeeren) 2
Tumhari hatheli se milti hai jaakar
mere haath ki yeh adhoori lakeeren

Badi sar chadhi hai yeh zulfen tumhari
Yeh zulfen meri baazuon mein utaaro

Pukaro mujhe naam lekar pukaro
Mujhe tumse apni khabar mil rahi hai

*Azal  means from the beginning of creation.

2. Hiya jarat rahat din rain (Godaan, 1963) : This song has such a rustic feel to it. I  love the prelude- the sitar and the flute. It sets such a happy note to it, even visually – a cow and a calf tied to a tree infront of the house, a hen pecking on something on the ground. A kid with a mother goat, puppies sucking milk, chics following the mother hen – all marking a new life coming into existence, spreading happiness and Raj Kumar savouring the sight around him. When the mukhda begins, in Bhojpuri, it just add to the rustic-ness that’s already set by the prelude .  Raj Kumar looks very convincing as a farmer and seems to be in a total bliss with his life and surroundings. But even admist all these, there’s an impending sadness in Mukesh’s voice, which reaches it’s peak in the last antara where a decaying skeleton is shown depicting death – Aas adhoori, pyaasi umariya…I had always loved the audio of this song. Saw the video today for the first time and must say I’m impressed with it. Hats off to Pandit Ravi Shankar for this wonderful composition, Anjaan for lovely lyrics and Mukesh for completing the traingle with his soulful rendition.

(Hiyaa jarat rahat din rain
O rama, jarat rahat din rain)2

(Ambuwa ki daali pe koyal bole) 2
Tanik na aawat chain 
O rama, jarat rahat din rain

(Baswaree mein madhur sur baaje) 2
Birahee papihara bolan lage
Madhure madhura madhu bain,
O rama, jarat rahat din rain

(Aas adhuri, pyaasi umariya) 2
Chhaye andhera sooni dagariya
(Darat jiya bechain)2
O rama, jarat rahat din rain

Hiyaa jarat rahat din rain
O rama, jarat rahat din rain

3. Kaise manaaun piyava (Char Diwari, 1961) : Haunting is the word that comes to my mind when I think of this song. When I had first heard this song, I thought it was too sad for my liking but there still was something very hauntingly beautiful and intriguing about it. And then I saw it’s video and I was mesmerized. From the lyrics I could make out that it had something to do with newly weds and probably the girl was in love with somebody else before she got married to this guy. In such situations, it’s usually just the song playing in the background, if it’s not sung by the people involved – ie the guy or the girl or the betrayed lover singing out all his wrath on bewafai. But the fact that it’s a third person singing this song and the husband confirming that it’s a kashti-waala who often sings this song as he sails across the river outside their house is what I found very interesting. I haven’t seen the movie, so I’m not sure who exactly the person singing it is, could be Nanda’s ex-lover. But I started liking this song  more after I saw it’s video. If only the sound in the video was little clearer.

The emotions are so beautifully described and rendered – the anxiety (ghabraana), shyness (sharmaana), short conversation in between and the confusion (or rather fear of not being able to accept or love the person). The last antara leaves the song on quite mysterious note.

The folk touch to the lyrics with words like “piyawa”, “ekhu” gives the song a desi feel. Everytime I listen to it I keep wondering what context is “Goon mere ekhu naahin” referring to. Whether it’s because she was in a relationship with somebody else before getting married and thinks she’s not worth all that she’s getting now. Also, the second antara that goes –

 

Saajan mere aaye, dhadkan badhti jaaye
Naina jhukte jaayein , ghunghat dhalta jaaye
Khudse hi sharmaaye, aaj teri parchhaayin

Though the first two lines have a romantic note to it, is the third line in continuation to that or is it something about her being ashamed of herself? I have to get hold of this movie somehow and watch it soon.

Salil Da’s music is awesome and so are Shailendra’s words. Heart-rending singing by Mukesh and must say a very well picturized song!

Kaise manaaun piyava 
Goon mere ekhu naahin
Kaise manaaun piyava 

Kaise manaaun piyava 
Goon mere ekhu naahin

Aayi milan ki bela 
Ghabraaun mann maahin
Kaise manaaun piyava 
Goon mere ekhu naahin

Kaise manaaun piyava 

(Saajan mere aaye 
Dhadkan badhti jaaye) 2
Naina jhukte jaayein 
Ghunghat dhalta jaaye
Khudse hi sharmaaye 
Aaj teri parchhaayin
Kaise manaaun piyava 
Goon mere ekhu naahin

(Main anjaani paraayi
Dwaar tihaare aayi) 2
Tune mujhe apnaya 
Preet ki reet nibhayi
Haye re mann ki kaliyaan
Phir bhi khil na paayin
Kaise manaaun piyava 
Goon mere ekhu naahin

Kaise manaaun piyava

A heart-felt thanks to all these maestros for creating such classic gems. Wonder what and how our lives would haven been without these vintage songs. Like the dialogue from Anand – “Anand mara nahiAnand marta nahin”, all these people are immortal. They’ll live forever in the hearts of millions of people. We have loved you and we will always love you. Happy Birthday Mukesh!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mukesh!”

  1. dustedoff Says:

    The only song I remembered having heard of these three was Pukaaro mera naam lekar pukaaro – such a fabulous song, so beautiful. I hadn’t known it was never picturised. But perhaps just as well…

    And now I want to see Char Diwari!

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      I can’t get enough of that song! I’m head over heels in love with it. The movie was never released. Couldn’t find the video, but not very sure if it was ever picturised.

  2. 786nasir Says:

    Indeed, the songs you have selected are very rare, except the Char Diwari song. Thanks for the treat!

  3. harvey Says:

    Mukesh is surely not one of my favourite singers, but I like his soulful voice, which has been used well in all the above songs. Of all of them, I knew only Pukaaro mera naam lekar pukaaro, but I had completely forgotten about it, thanks for reminding me of it.

    Loved the rustic feel of the Go-Daan song, so simple and so sweet! And Raaj Kumar looks good here.

    The birhan song from Char-Diwari is a poignant song! I love this kinds of song and even planning to make a list of it someday! Thanks for adding a new one to it!

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      He wasn’t one of my favourite singers until recently. I’ve started listening to lots of his songs, lot more than I had ever thought possible and I’m thoroughly enjoying them.
      List of birhan songs!!! That sounds great, would be eagerly waiting for your post 🙂

  4. Goomatie N. Deba Says:

    My all time favorite Mukesh song is “Oh Meri Hamrahi”
    O MERE HUMRAHI KYON TERA MAN – The Mighty Mukesh – THE RIGHT AND THE WRONG (1973) [ORIGINAL]

  5. Aditya Says:

    Do you know the meaning of jarat? In hiya jarat rahat din rain.. I have always loved the song and the movie.. One of the best songs for me too.. What rendition by Mukesh as well.

Leave a Reply

