Two New Discoveries

Here are two new old songs that I recently discovered.

1. Chunnu patang ko kehte hai hai kite (Zameen Ke Taare, 1960) : I listened to this lovely duet by Asha Bhosle and Sudha Malhotra and fell in love with it instantly. I had thought of including this in my Children’s Day post, but couldn’t wait for so long 🙂

My school in Bhutan was on top of a hill and we had to climb up everyday – it used to be around half an hour walk (it was quite a steep hill, so we didn’t have any conveyance and there was no proper road as well. It used to be a little path in between a pine forest). How I wish I had known this song during my school days. It would have been so much fun going to school everyday singing something like this. This song, however reminds me of Ichak daana bichak daana.

2. Chhaya hua hai kadhki ka mausam (Pick Pocket, 1962) : Composed by Sardar Malik and written by Gulshan Bawra, it’s a very entertaining duet by Rafi and Suman Kalyanpur :-). I don’t know who it is picturised on, couldn’t find anything about the movie. There’s no video available for this :-(. Would have loved to see it.

There are few other songs that I came across lately like Aaye ho bahaar banke lubha kar chale gaye rendered by Rafi and Ae mere dildar by Rafi and Geeta Dutt.  But then if I actually start thinking, I will end up sitting awake the whole night. So am off to sleep now. More songs some other day.

Am leaving for Coorg tomorrow for an extended weekend. I will be back on Tuesday. Till then Happy blogging and keep watching lots of movies and listening to lots of songs.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Two New Discoveries”

  1. Sharmi Says:

    Have a great weekend in Coorg Archana. 🙂 And come back with more of such wonderful trivia 🙂

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      Thank you so much Sharmi! I had a wonderful time. Trekking, Aerial Assault (Jungle Gym), lots of fun and masti and to add to that watching Chupke Chuke, Golmal and Angoor with a group of friends. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.

  2. bollyviewer Says:

    Thanks for Chhunnu patang ko kehta hai kite! It’s certainly a lovely find. I can’t stop listening to it! And going to youtube for this, I found that the other songs from this film are equally lovely.

    Have a great time in Coorg!

  3. dustedoff Says:

    Archana, thank you for this! Such wonderful songs – especially Chunnu patang ko kehta hai kite. Love the picturisation too: so cute. 🙂

    Have a lovely time in Coorg!

  4. bollywoodeewana Says:

    Have a great weekend in coorg, never heard of it till now, the kid in that first vid is Daisy right

Leave a Reply

