Happy Birthday – Neetu Singh!

One of the bubliest and the most vivacious actresses till date….I so very badly wanted to review one of her movies and/or do a 10 favourite songs of hers on 8th July, her birthday, but I got late at work and came back home only an hour back. Considering that tomorrow is Friday and I have to getup early and go to work, it’s too late to post anything now.

Neetu Singh special post coming up over the weekend….for the time being enjoy this interview.

The cutest couple on and off-screen – one of my favourite jodis…totally adore them and love watching them together.

But unfortunately I don’t have many DVDs from the 70’s  – I’m not very fond of movies from 70’s  (50’s and 60’s being my favourite decades), but  my love for (and obsession with) the Kapoor family leads me into watching lots of films that I wouldn’t have seen otherwise. 😉

Jaani Dushman and Do Kaliyan are the only two films in my collection that star Neetu Singh. So, it’s gonna be either of them over the weekend.

Here’s wishing this effervescent actress  a very Happy Birthday! God bless her and her entire family. 🙂

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “Happy Birthday – Neetu Singh!”

  1. dustedoff Says:

    Am looking forward to your review! Haven’t seen Jaani Dushman, and am not too fond of Do Kaliyaan though it does have the distinction of having Neetu Singh in a (was it ‘first ever in Hindi cinema’?) double role for a child actor.

    Happy birthday, Ms Singh! Love you. 🙂

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      I had seen Jaani Dushman long ago, when I was around 13 and since I missed the first 15 mins which includes Raja Murad’s narration, I couldn’t figure out what was happening. Never got to watch it again…so I picked up a DVD few months back, but haven’t got around to watching it yet. The best thing about it is Tere haathon mein pehnake chudiyan for me.
      I’m not very fond of Do Kaliyan as well – too loud and OTT. However, I had really enjoyed watching it as a kid…not much of Mala-Biswajeet part, but had loved Neetu in it. I think it was the very first time a child actor appeared in a double role in Hindi Cinema. Let me google for more info.

  2. neha Says:

    Very Good
    Thanks

  3. Sharmi Says:

    Hi,
    I’ll be waiting for the review. Yes, Neetu was really bubbly and a good actress. I liked her in many films. And she looked the best with Rishi the charmer 🙂 But, like Madhulika, I too didn’t like Do Kaliyaan because it was too loud and Mala Sinha looked so old 😦

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      Hee hee…looks like we all share a common opinion about Do Kaliyan .
      But guess what, that’s the movie I’m reviewing this evening. Except for Neetu, and Tumhari nazar kyun khafa ho gayi there’s nothing much in it. Let’s discuss more on the actual post itself.

  4. harvey Says:

    Neetu!
    In her hey days I never really appreciated he rmuch, but now more than ever!
    Happy Birthday Neetu!

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      I saw her as a kid in few movies and then I saw her movies as a leading lady. I always liked her…apart from being bubbly, there was some sort of freshness about her that I find very endearing. She looked cute then and now she looks so gorgeous and so elegant.

  5. Rajagopalan Says:

    Wow.. remember Neetu Singh used to be a perfect Woman in her Hey days.. and I used to watch her movies at the first available opp.. lot of character in all the roles plus the beauty and the perfect physio… mmm!!

    Well done with the article, keep such good msgs coming our way!! God bless you.

    Raj

  6. Nasir Says:

    I somehow missed seeing her movies except when she appears in multi-starrers such as Amar Akbar Anthony, Kala Patthar, Dharam Veer, The Burning Train, etc. In Kala Patthar her role gets a boost because of comments from Amitabh when he explains to Rakhi that for just a rupee Channo (if I remember Neetu’s name) sells so many dreams to the miners.

    One can say in her favour that she is the only child artiste who made it to the rank of film heroines! Naaz had to remain content with the roles of sister mostly except for the heroines roles in some B Grade movies. Farida never made it at all. Neither did Daisy Irani or Honey Irani make it. Neither the formidable Tabussum! A few character roles or stints in adulthood don’t count.

    • sunheriyaadein Says:

      That’s so true….she was the only child artist who became popular as a leading lady too.
      She is in lot’s of multi-starrers na…few more that I can recall are Jaani Dushman, Yaadon Ki Baarat (her first movies as a heroine), Deewar, Doosra Aadmi and Kabhi Kabhi. I have seen few other movies of hers as well…By 70’s not many movies had substantial stories as such, so story toh kuch khaas nahin thi movies ki, but she had this cheerfulness and freshness about her that I really liked.

  7. Puja Singh Says:

    happy b’s day to you neetu singh

  8. bharati Says:

    hi
    happy birthday to u , love u very much

  9. sunheriyaadein Says:

    @Puja, Bhatati : Thank you so much for dropping by. I’ve just done another post on Neetu Singh. Here’s the link – https://sunheriyaadein.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/happy-belated-birthday-neetu-singh/

  10. bhagwan sharma Says:

    netu sing is my first love

Leave a Reply

