I love Mohammed Rafi!!!

God, what a hectic fortnight it’s been! (I know it’s not the perfect way to begin this post). Have been so busy, I’ve hardly had the time to even read what’s going on in the blog world. Though tired and excited at the same time  about the long weekend I couldn’t go to sleep today without writing something about my favourite singer – Mohammed Rafi.  Oh, how I adore this man!!!

The picture below will always remain special to me. It’s my earliest memory associated with him. My dad had a record player. It had a wooden case with glass doors . And this very picture was painted on one of the glass doors. The other had a portrait of Mukesh. I’ve seen this pic ever since I can remember and that’s way long before I actually started listening to his songs.

 As much as I love him, I can’t even think of making a top-ten list of his songs on his birth anniversary today. It would be a sin to pick up just 10 songs of his. My list would go on and on.

No matter what song it is, who it’s picturized on, the moment I recognize Rafi’s voice, I feel as though I’ve known the song all my life (even if I’m hearing it for the first time). I feel connected to his songs at once. 

What a velvety voice he had and what great songs he has sung!!! I could simply sit and listen to them all my life.

Though I myself consider it a sin to pick just a handful of his songs for this post here, I just can’t resist listing this particular number –

Tum mujhe yun bhoola na paoge, jab kabhi bhi sunoge geet mere, sang sang tum bhi gun gunaoge 

It’s so true……you will always be fondly remembered. Love you Rafi saab!!!

Tags:

8 Responses to “I love Mohammed Rafi!!!”

  1. dustedoff Says:

    Rafi was sheer genius. Love him, totally.

  2. sunheriyaadein Says:

    😀

  3. silkrd Says:

    Breaking News : The Last Songs of Mohammed Rafi, lost and found again are now released by Silk Road Communications.

    Now in form of an album “The Last Songs”, is a stunning once-in-a-lifetime discovery, a priceless heritage!

    The album includes a bonus audio track to discover the extraordinary story on why these songs are released after 30 years.

    The original old tapes underwent audio restoration by Equus, the European leaders in audio heritage conservation.

    The album “The Last Songs” is distributed in India by Universal Music, worldwide availability to follow.

    The digital album is available on all digital platforms: iTunes, Amazon, Napster …

    Discover the preview here:

    http://silkrd.wordpress.com/

  4. Nasir Says:

    O Rafi is the best!

    By the way, the photo at NO.3 shows Rafi Sahaab recording a song for Junoon (1979?).

    I would really like to hear the LOST SONGS.

  5. sunheriyaadein Says:

    Yay for all Rafi fans!!!!!!!!
    I didn’t know that. I just downloaded it from the net. Thanks for that piece of info! According to IMDB Junoon was a 1978 film.

    I would love to get hold of his last songs too.

  6. mohamedparvez Says:

    dear sunehriyaadein and other rafi saab,fans kindly visit our beloved rafi saab”s blog,total over 500 pages are there,to go to next page,kindly click older posts,you will find bottom of every page,kindly visit this link,take care

    http://www.rafifanblog.blogspot.com

  7. shammi Says:

    I absolutely adore Mohd Rafi, he is by far the best just love, love , love him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

